Upper and Lower spindle bushing and spindle install

Tech tips and how to's

Moderators: notoptoy, garth, S Allen

OGFAIRLADY
Roadster Fanatic

Upper and Lower spindle bushing and spindle install

Post by OGFAIRLADY »

Hello,

This is my first attempt in changing my upper and lower spindles and bushings. So far i have loosened everything out that need’s to be changed and currently the upper arm is off the car and ready for the spindle and bushing’s. I would like to ask what is the proper way to install the upper / lower bushing’s and spindle’s.

Thank you in advance
Jay Jay
1970 1600
Gregs672000
Roadster Fanatic-Site Supporter

Re: Upper and Lower spindle bushing and spindle install

Post by Gregs672000 »

Jay, not sure your question got answered... are you talking about the bushings in the ends of the upper and lower A arms? Sounds like it... and they're not easy to get on or off. I had to use an impact wrench and even then it was a struggle...
Greg Burrows
'67 2000 #588
Tacoma, WA
roysuecan
Roadster Nut
Model: 2000
Year: High Windshield-68-70

Post by roysuecan »

I got my lower bushings off with a socket, breaker bar and long piece of pipe as a lever arm. I put the lower a-arm on the floor and stood on it while pushing on the pipe. It worked pretty well.
I didn't remove the upper bushings.
1969 SRL31110811
OGFAIRLADY
Roadster Fanatic

Post by OGFAIRLADY »

Gregs672000 wrote: Thu May 13, 2021 8:28 pm Jay, not sure your question got answered... are you talking about the bushings in the ends of the upper and lower A arms? Sounds like it... and they're not easy to get on or off. I had to use an impact wrench and even then it was a struggle...
Greg, yea I have got some answers, And yes I was talking about the bushings in the ends of the control arms. They are a pain to remove but so far so good I got my upper arm all ready to go and now going to work on the bottom.