Tech tips and how to's

Moderators: notoptoy, S Allen, Solex68

beebo
Roadster Fanatic
Model: 2000
Year: High Windshield-68-70

Distributor advance springs.

Post by beebo »

When i first got the car started up, i would rev it and it would not idle back down; stayed at ~2000rpm. i took the distibutor apart and found that it had one incorrect spring on the centrifugal advance and one correct one. the only springs i could get were from a SBC. When i installed this, i think the springs are a little stiff because when i drove it, it felt like it had 0 power until about 2500 when the dist. finally advanced. when should the vaccuum advance cut out and the mechanical davance take over or where can i get the correct little ditributor springs.
Myphisto

Post by Myphisto »

I'm no expert, but I believe the mechanical advance is the first stage and the vacuum is the second stage. That's why you would have minimal power until enough vacuum built up at a higher RPM to actuate the advance. As far as springs, try the dealer and or some of the online vendors. You might also check ebay as I thought I saw some distributor rebuild kits on there.
spyder
Roadster Fanatic-Site Supporter

Post by spyder »