Noob w/ question....cross country drive a bad or good idea?

General topics.

Moderators: notoptoy, S Allen, Solex68

bryman10

Noob w/ question....cross country drive a bad or good idea?

Post by bryman10 »

Hey all,
bryman here, and yes I'm a datsun roadster noob. I've pretty much been a Honda/Toyota guy my whole life ::ducks, swing:: but have recently become quite enamored w/ these little datsun roadsters.
OK, here's my question (WARNING! This *might* sound a little nuts):
1) Should I drive (or more specifically, have someone else drive) a roadster from CA to me in NC?
2) Has anyone driven one cross country?
3) Are they typically reliable enough cars to go for long stretches like this w/o stranding the driver on the side of the road?

OK, so maybe it's question(s) :lol:

Here's the deal folks....I've got a line on a '69 1600 from a guy in northern california. I'm (reluctantly) selling my '85 Honda CRX supercar (B16 VTEC, T3/T40E turbo, etc, etc) to a southern california guy--we'll call him SCG from now on--(about an 8 hour drive from the northern cali guy).

Here's where it gets a little sticky....

I've pretty much got the deal almost finalized, and this is the sequence of events (if the planets align and the gods smile on me):
1) southern cali guy is taking a flight or greyhound (which I'll gladly pay for) to northern cali guy's house to buy said roadster;
2) SCG will then drive the roadster (which is in excellent mechanical condition according the the owner (NCG) over the river and through the woods about 2900 miles to me in North Carolina;
3) SCG will then buy my CRX (sans roadster $$$'s) and drive it back to his home in SoCal.

Am I nuts?

bryman<-----reaching for medication....
JoeK
Roadster Fanatic

Post by JoeK »

I don't think you're nuts. I think Southern California guy is nuts.