WHat sise sidedrafts would be good for my KA24E swap?

Tech tips and how to's

Moderators: notoptoy, S Allen, Solex68

dumbaxe

WHat sise sidedrafts would be good for my KA24E swap?

Post by dumbaxe »

First ill say Hi to everyone because im new here.
I got my 66 1600 in compton, CA last july for pretty cheap. ( the same price i sold my gross 83 z28 for)

Im getting a KA swap, and already have the manifold on its way. I was just wondering what would be a decent size carb set to run on it if tis pretty stock.
Maybe ill get a header to match the new carb setup, if it will clear the death spear.
DCOE 40s are really easy to find used or rebuilt for cheap, but the 44s or 45s are more expensive. I dotn want to get something thats going to overdo it, but if the larger ones will work out and give me room for engine upgrades later it might be worth the extra money in the long run.

any advice?
thanks
datsunrides
Roadster Fanatic-Site Supporter

Post by datsunrides »

First off, I'm no expert on the subject but here is a suggestion (based on some prior use of these carbs) If you plan on keeping the engine stock or close to it, I would go with the 40's. You will have to choke them down a bit (35-37 mm?) to make them streetable. You can also choke down 44-45-50mm's but if you are not planning to go hog wild with modifications or race the thing, 40's should be all you need for the street. Not to divert you from your chosen path, but why not use the stock fuel injection (assuming multi-port)? it could potentially me much less of a headache than trying to get those carbs dialed in. There are SOOOO many adjustments that you can make to sidedrafts that it is real easy to screw the jetting up if you don't understand the principles of them. In the end, it's your choice and do as you please.

Mark
1966 Roadster
Turbo / EFI U20 (T25 w/ SDS EMU.)
TR

Post by TR »

Check 510 sites or the Dime Quarterly. There are a few 510 guys running KA's with carbs...
datsun65
Roadsteraholic