General topics.

Moderators: notoptoy, S Allen, Solex68

Dster
Roadster Nut
Model: 2000
Year: High Windshield-68-70

Tach cable

Post by Dster »

I’m still working on my 69 2000 redo. Now I have a new problem: it’s always started VERY easily until I took off the tach cable to replace it (new one on the way). Now it won’t start all! I think it must be a coincidence as I can’t think of any reason to connect taking this cable off and not starting. On the other hand, I’m a complete noob as far as the engine goes. I’ve checked the distributor cables and all are still attached. The engine turns over rapidly but won’t “catch” at all. Am I right about this just being a coincidence and not related at all or does taking the cable off the distributor mess things up?
Nissanman
Roadster Fanatic-Site Supporter
Model: 1500/1600
Year: Low Windshield-64-67.5

Re: Tach cable

Post by Nissanman »

The only thing I can think of is that the cable was providing a ground for something electrical :roll: :? :roll: :?
Nissanman, just trying to help.
1965 SP310 Engine No. G-93326 Car No. SP310-10817
https://photos.shutterfly.com/album/60141836519
On the road again!
Gregs672000

Post by Gregs672000 »

Ya, IF things were right before then removing the cable would make no difference. Does sound spark related, so pull a plug wire or the coil wire and check for spark (stick an insulated screw driver in it, have someone crank the motor and see if it will spark to metal while cranking... don't shock yourself). I suddenly recall a time when I forgot to reinstall the rotor once... :roll:

If no spark well have to figure out why...
Greg Burrows
'67 2000 #588
Tacoma, WA
theunz
Roadster Nut-Site Supporter

Post by theunz »