General topics.

Moderators: notoptoy, S Allen, Solex68

kennyele11
Roadster Nut
Model: 2000
Year: High Windshield-68-70

Some noob questions

Post by kennyele11 »

Hello everyone, I have a few questions regarding my roadster. First off though I want to disclose that I’m aware that I’m missing a distributor wire and my thermostat housing is off the car. Anyway I’m trying to figure out the source of my overheating problems and I am suspecting it is a problem with the timing and the carbs not being tuned properly, I have read about setting the timing but the first step is to make sure your car is desmogged and I am fairly new to working on cars so I’m completely unaware wether or not my car is smogged. I have attached some photos and hopefully from the photos the answer will be obvious. Also I have read about the clutch fan potentially being the source of over heating as well and my clutch fan is always spinning when the car is on. Does this mean I don’t need the spacer for the fan?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
spl310
Roadster Guru
Location: In front of this keyboard... in Jacksonville, Florida!

Re: Some noob questions

Post by spl310 »

You don't have the smog pump, so you are part the way there at a minimum. You should still run a spacer on the fan as it keeps the fan in the shroud and increases the effectiveness. Many will tell you to buy a 4 blade fan, but the one that you have will work fine it will just make more noise. To check if you are desmogged on the distributor, you need to verify what point cam is in there. That means pulling the cap and usually pulling the breaker plate to see what the cam has stamped on it.
"Wow, a Roadster!" Stuart Little

1967.5 2000
1967.5 2000
1964 1500
1964 1500
1967.5 1600
1968 chassis
2006 Acura MDX
2013 Volkswagen Jetta TDI wagon
1995 F350 Powerstroke!
More...
jrusso07
Roadsteraholic

Post by jrusso07 »