Datsun 2000 back fires now won’t start

Tech tips and how to's

Moderators: notoptoy, S Allen, Solex68

Cllishof

Datsun 2000 back fires now won’t start

Post by Cllishof »

I am no mechanic. So I take my datsun out. Driving along I think it’s in 3rd it’s in 5th it revs up backfires shuts off. Now won’t start. It wants to. I mean it really does. Let it sit for 12 hours. Tried starting it nothing. Just got it home. Any help would be appreciated and thanks in advance. Chris linhardt
Cllishof

Re: Datsun 2000 back fires now won’t start

Post by Cllishof »

Timing chain was changed 15,000 miles ago. Anyone ever heard of a backfire making one jump? Seems unlikely but a thought.
C.Costine
Roadster Nut-Site Supporter

Post by C.Costine »

You need to trouble shoot. Check for gas to the cylinders by looking at plugs for gas present or not. Check for spark by laying a plug on the valve cover with wire on it and grounding it with one of your clip on jumper wires. After that you go to compression then timing in a systematic manner. This is going to require tools, LOL.
located in Chester NH
1967 1600 in restoration
2013 Arctic Cat F-1100 turbo
Ford F-350 6.0
Ford 9000 puller, Ford 960 puller, Ford 901show, Ford 971 worker, Oliver 70 waiting its turn
theunz
Roadster Nut-Site Supporter
Model: 2000
Year: High Windshield-68-70

Post by theunz »

I would check for a loose distributor first. Your distributor may have moved while you were driving thus causing the backfire and subsequent loss of power followed by the refusal to start.