Cylinder 2 incomplete combustion

Tech tips and how to's

Moderators: notoptoy, S Allen, Solex68

Fairlady5150

Cylinder 2 incomplete combustion

Post by Fairlady5150 »

So my recently acquired 1968 1600 appeared to be running very rich. I'm new to SU's so I did some homework before taking a look at them. Everything appears to check out okay, so I started looking elsewhere. Figured I'd swap the plugs while I'm at it. Before I removed it, I noticed #2 was at a slightly off angle, and wasn't seated as low as the others. New plug yielded the same results. So I'm guessing that I'm likely 'running rich' because cylinder #2 has little or no combustion. Any thoughts on this? Any recommendations? Definitely don't want to try to force the plug.
keith0alan
Roadsteraholic

Re: Cylinder 2 incomplete combustion

Post by keith0alan »

If the plug is at an angle and not seating then the plug is quite likely cross threaded. You have a bigger problem that running rich.
theunz
Roadster Nut-Site Supporter
Model: 2000
Year: High Windshield-68-70

Post by theunz »

You might be able to correct the threads with a thread chaser. Use plenty of grease on the chaser to hopefully catch the shavings. Other, and the proper way is to pull the head and then address the threads.
Mike M

Old enough to know better, too old to remember why!

1969 2000 solex mine since 1972, under resurrection. (Finally resurrected as of spring 2019!)
1969 Porsche 911s -worth more, but not as valuable! Gone!
2017 Lotus Evora 400 - Oh my!!
C.Costine
Roadster Nut-Site Supporter

Post by C.Costine »