distrubutor identify and gap/dwell set

Tech tips and how to's

Moderators: notoptoy, S Allen, Solex68

Lorna c
Site Supporter

distrubutor identify and gap/dwell set

Post by Lorna c »

I've been reading about these Distributors and I believe I have the smog one ,but there are no numbers stamped on it I believe the total advancement is past 35 degrees could someone tell me for sure. Also being self-taught mechanic that I am does the dwell have more to do with the timing set, rather then necessarily the distributor do I understand the works of all this correctly or am I way off.. pls if someone on super bowl Sunday is looking here , pls help me .. lol .. thx
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
:wink:
"Is it me, or does everyone want to race ?"

late 68 1600 3 main motor .
jrusso07
Roadsteraholic
Model: 2000
Year: High Windshield-68-70

Re: distrubutor identify and gap/dwell set

Post by jrusso07 »

Waiting for game to start..drinking beer, trying to stay warm....

You need to remove the points and point plate to see the markings on the distributor cam. They are marked on the wings where spring pivots attach. See this pic https://farm3.staticflickr.com/2900/146 ... 2fbb_o.jpg

7.5 is non-smog.

Dwell is the angle that the points remain open. It is directly related to point gap. Set the gap right and dwell will be right. You need a dwell meter to measure the dwell angle
Joe

1969 SRL311 - Solex
1970 SPL311 - U20 mod
1970 SRL311
notoptoy
Vendor-Site Supporter

Post by notoptoy »

Dwell can be thought of as a measure of the points setting, if the points are set right your dwell should be darn close. Timing does not affect Dwell. As far as your distributor, you have to remove the breaker plate and read the number on the points Cam.
"When all else fails, force prevails!" Ummm, we're gonna need a bigger hammer here.

67.5 SPL311 H20 w/5 speed
65 Impala Convertible
2017 C43 AMG
Lorna c
Site Supporter

Post by Lorna c »