Master Cylinder

Tech tips and how to's

Moderators: notoptoy, S Allen, Solex68

RoadsterJay

Master Cylinder

Post by RoadsterJay »

Hello all......
I'm a total roadster rookie so bear with me. I'm in the process of restoring my 68 1600 and I am at the point where it runs.......but doesn't stop. I know I need to replace the master cylinder (awful leaky) and I plan on doing the Volvo conversion in the near future. I read the Volvo conversion article posted on this website and noticed at the end that the 280z master cylinder is not necessary for the 67.5 and later. Why not???? What should I do :?: , buy a new roadster master cylinder or buy the new 280z master cylinder (in terms of fixing my brakes now and planning for the future). Thanks a lot!!!!!!!!
S Allen
Site Admin
Model: 1500/1600
Year: Low Windshield-64-67.5

RE:Brakes

Post by S Allen »

Jason,

Welcome to our little forum and thanks for registering. The reason you do not have to swap out the brake master in the later cars is that it is already a dual reservoir unit. The early cars had a single brake master unlike the later dual. A 280Z master is dual. There is no reason not to swap it out if you are doing the brake upgrade. The Z car master is a lot cheaper than a roadster master cylinder. Your choice really. You may have to change the fittings on the brake lines that connect to the Z car master. Also save the plunger that hooks to the brake pedal arm and refit it into the 280Z master cylinder as well. It is the correct length where the 280Z one is not. Not a big deal but something you should know. Good luck.

Steve
66 Stroker-Going Orange
67 SRL311-00279-resto project
Stock '72 240Z-Blue
2002 Ford F250 7.3 Diesel 2WD Hauler
2008 Toyota FJ Cruiser
2009 Smart ForTwo Passion Coupe
2013 Fiat 500 Abarth
SLOroadster
Roadsteraholic

Master Cylinder

Post by SLOroadster »