Need help... roadster only idles... something went wrong

Tech tips and how to's

Moderators: notoptoy, S Allen, Solex68

deisenba

Need help... roadster only idles... something went wrong

Post by deisenba »

I'm new to the world of Datsun Roadsters. I have a 1969 2000 that recelntly died on me. I was driving down the freeway at about 65mph when I came to my exit. I took my foot off the gas and it backfired about 3 times. I came to a stop and all the car would do is idle. I checked the fuel filter, it was good, but I replaced it anyway. The fuel line is not plugged. I checked the compression. 123 psi on all 4 cylinders. I checked the diaphrams on the fuel pump, and they seemed ok. I'm not sure where to go from here. Anyone have ideas as to what I should check next. I've had the car about 3 years and have never had a problem with it.

thanks
S Allen
Site Admin
Model: 1500/1600
Year: Low Windshield-64-67.5

RE:Somethimg Went Wrong

Post by S Allen »

So what you are saying is your car backfires when you now give it some gas? Sounds like you checked the fuel delivery and all is well. Try doing a tune-up i.e. cap, rotor, points and plugs. They do wear out after a while. Also while you have the cap off of the distributor check to see if there is any play in the rotor mount. It should be solid and not move much. If you can wiggle it you either need to rebuild your distributor or buy a rebuilt. A dizzy can go bad while driving along. Could be a bad coil as well. A bad coil will get very hot. Good luck and welcome to the forum.

Steve.
66 Stroker-Going Orange
67 SRL311-00279-resto project
Stock '72 240Z-Blue
2002 Ford F250 7.3 Diesel 2WD Hauler
2008 Toyota FJ Cruiser
2009 Smart ForTwo Passion Coupe
2013 Fiat 500 Abarth
deisenba

Post by deisenba »

You are right that I should move to the cap, rotor, plugs, coil... The car does not back fire now. It only did it when the problem started. Now I have to hold the gas pedal to the floor to keep the car idling.