Roadster radio/speakers/subwoofer ideas...

Tech tips and how to's

Moderators: notoptoy, S Allen, Solex68

Tomakze
Roadster Fanatic

Roadster radio/speakers/subwoofer ideas...

Post by Tomakze »

I am an MECP certified installer, meaning I install radios, security systems, etc for a living, and my '68 1600 is in need of all of the above! I managed to score a nice Pioneer radio with AUX jack from work (My car's console was cut by the PO already) and some really nice Kicker 5.25" speakers. I plan to install the speakers in the rear, behind the seats. I was going to cut holes to mount them out of the wall between the driver's compartment and trunk, as I have seen several others do the same. For the front speakers, I was thinking about using some small 3.5" speakers and mounting them in the doors behind the door panel (And removing the cardboard from that area, perhaps drilling a nice pattern of holes in the fabric like some cars have from the factory) as there is a nice round hole in the door in front of the window crank that might just work. Has anyone attempted this? The only thing I haven't figured out yet is where to run a rubber boot to run the wiring between the car and the door. I was also considering a small (8") shallow mount subwoofer mounted in the center of the same wall as the rear speakers... Is there any disadvantage of cutting so many holes in that wall (Aside from the obvious, my car is full of rust, so I am not concerned with resale value. I am talking structure disadvantages.)

I have also purchased a nice alarm system for the car, complete with a motion detector. This way, I can go to the store and leave my top down and not have to worry. If anyone even reaches inside the car, the alarm will sound. I will also install power door locks inside the door while I am at it. (My car has no keys to the doors, so this is a cheap way of getting around this... not to mention, cool as heck!)