Brake Mod: 4runner/Maxima

Tech tips and how to's

Moderators: notoptoy, S Allen, Solex68

Gregs672000
Roadster Fanatic-Site Supporter

Brake Mod: 4runner/Maxima

Post by Gregs672000 »

Greetings fellow Roadster nuts!
As requested I have taken a few pics of my Toyota 4runner/Maxima vented disc brake mod. I will try to explain it here. My camera sucks so hopefully the pics are ok. Keep in mind that I did not do this thinking "kit". It will require welding and grinding, and the rotors will need to be turned down a bit both in diameter and thickness... but I don't remember exactly how much, but I can guide you on where I got that info. Also, please keep in mind that I am NOT an engineer, and since this is a brake mod do this at your own risk! I can say however that I have not had a single problem with this system since day one. They work great, do not fade, seem pretty well balanced to the Roadster master cylinder and rear brakes, and I could not be happier!

Anyway, here is what you need:
1987 Toyota 4runner calipers (left and right). Other years may work (like '84-'88?) but I do recall that Toyota changed the caliper close to this time... maybe '89. Cost $65 each, loaded, no core on Rockauto.com
1988 Nissan Maxima rotors. Cost $11.02 each on Rockauto.com, beck/arnley #0802162 should work. Can probably find fancy drilled ones etc if you so desire.
You may need an adaptor for your flex lines. I have braided steel lines that had adaptors on them for the Roadster calipers and I THINK they bolted right into the Toyota... but I can't be sure and I don't plan to take it apart to see. I suggest you locate a Roadster flex line and test it in the Toyota, and if it works or requires adaptors let others know or update this post.