Roadster Mechanic

General topics.

Moderators: notoptoy, S Allen, Solex68

yusef
Roadster Fanatic

Roadster Mechanic

Post by yusef »

Hi all,

I don't post regularly but am an avid follower of the site. I wanted to share a recent experience I had. My roadster (69 2000) was having a whine clearly coming from the tranny in neutral (clutch to the floor and sound goes away). Rather than mess with the tranny myself, I thought best to take it to a shop. I took it to Z-expert in West Los Angeles on Venice Blvd...the reviews online seemed favorable and this shop was fairly local to my address. I explained the problem to shop owner and he quoted me quite the bill, but not being a transmission expert, I felt it worth it. In any case, the car sat at this shop for over 1.5 months. I would call regularly to ask status and they would tell me they are working on it. I didn't want to rush them because I knew it was delicate job. Anyway, this week they told me to come checkout the car, but that admittedly the sound is still there. I went to checkout the car and sure enough the sound is still there. We settled the bill to just pay for the bearings that were swapped out and a valve adjustment that was originally supposed to be comped. Anyway, on the drive home, literally, 3 miles away, the car jumps from 5th gear to neutral (I suspect this is the classic nut backing out issue). I call the shop and explain the issue and they basically tell me tough. I explain this wasn't an issue before I brought the car to you guys and the shop owner tells me that he's "tired of working on this tranny." I ask what he can do for me given the situation he recommends get a new transmission and he'll swap it out for $1500. Obviously, I'm not happy and I let him know I'll think about it.

I'm writing this to let other folks know to avoid Z-expert on Venice Blvd in SOCAL at all costs for your roadster needs. These guys clearly do not know what they are doing.

Thanks,
Yusef
Linda
Fraternal Den Mother-RIP