Moderators: notoptoy, S Allen, Solex68

RoadZog
Roadster Newby
Model: 2000
Year: High Windshield-68-70

Question re: Bill of Sale

Post by RoadZog »

Hi folks,

I'm in the process of graduating from forum lurker to full-fledged community member with the purchase of a very cool 1967.5 1600. Today I got a copy of the title and a bill of sale, which is required here in NJ. Unfortunately, the current owner left the title "open" when he bought it from the previous owner. It's understandable given nobody wants to deal with the DMV in the best of times, but especially now in Covid world. When I asked the seller if the NJ DMV was going to give me trouble if the name of the seller on the bill of sale is different from the name on the old title, he said he would just change the name on the bill of sale to the previous owner... which honestly sounded a little too easy.

Given this is my first time purchasing a car from a private seller, I'm a little nervous to begin with wiring a large amount of money to someone I met on the internet (it sounds so much worse when I put it like that...). I understand not all states even require a bill of sale, but coming from NJ, where they tax EVERYTHING, my immediate thought was the current and prior owner left it titled in the prior owners name to avoid paying income taxes. And now, if I go through with the transaction, isn't that prior owner going to get a call from the IRS? Maybe I'm being paranoid, but a little paranoia has served me pretty well so far in my business dealings, so I figured I'd head to the most knowledgeable place on the web for these types of things. So, roadster fans, am I right to be concerned, or is this nothing and it doesn't really matter what the name of the seller is on the bill of sale?

Thanks,

Matt
1969 SRL 311
2017 Chevy SS
notoptoy
Vendor-Site Supporter

Re: Question re: Bill of Sale

Post by notoptoy »